Dogs & pets
Dogs in Carlsbad Caverns: where they can go
Last verified Trails not stated6 ft leash max
Allowed in some areas. Pets are not allowed in the cavern, on unpaved surface trails, off road, at the Bat Flight Program or in the visitor center; a day-use concession kennel is available ($15/day).

Where pets are allowed
The park’s page names no areas where pets may go.
Off-limits
- • The cavern
- • Unpaved park trails on the surface
- • Off road
- • During the Bat Flight Program
- • The visitor center
Backcountry: not stated
Rules & services
- Leash
- 6 ft or shorter, at all times
- Kennels
- A concession-run kennel (Carlsbad Caverns Trading Company) is for day use only with no overnight stays, $15/day, 9:00 am-3:30 pm, first-come first-served; proof of vaccinations is required.
- B.A.R.K. Ranger
- Principles listed; no program described
In the park's own words
What Carlsbad Caverns says about pets
Sentences quoted from the park’s nps.gov pets page, last updated September 9, 2025, captured 2026-10-05.
“The park concessioner, Carlsbad Caverns Trading Company, operates a kennel service where you may leave your pet in a temperature controlled environment while you tour the cavern.” nps.gov
“Pets are not allowed in the cavern, on unpaved park trails on the surface, off road, during the Bat Flight Program, or in the visitor center.” nps.gov
“Pets need to be on a leash no longer than six feet in length when outside your vehicle.” nps.gov
“The kennel is for day use only” nps.gov
“Fee: $15/day” nps.gov
Worth knowing
- The page does not list where pets are allowed. It bars pets from unpaved surface trails but does not say whether paved trails are open to pets, so trails is unknown and allowedAreas is empty.
- The leash rule applies 'when outside your vehicle'; pets may not be left unattended in vehicles and 'must be kenneled'.
- Kennel vaccine requirements: dogs need Rabies, Distemper, Bordetella (kennel cough) and Canine Influenza; cats need Rabies, Distemper and Panleukopenia; a copy of the vaccination record with expiration date is required, collar tags are not accepted.
- Kennel hours on the page: 9:00 am-3:30 pm; last drop-off 2:15 pm; last pick-up 3:30 pm; reservations are not accepted.
How we read the rules
Every statement on this page was taken from the park’s own pets page on nps.gov and the quoted sentences are re-checked against our saved copy of that page each time the site is built. Parks change pet rules for wildlife, heat and trail conditions, and superintendents can close areas at short notice, so treat the park’s pets page and the ranger at the entrance as the final word. Service animals are covered by different rules. Compare all 63 parks.
Sources · 2
- 1.Carlsbad Caverns National Park — Pets (nps.gov), last updated September 9, 2025 · National Park Service
- 2.Pets pages of each park on nps.gov (62 park units), read and quoted · National Park Service (U.S. Department of the Interior)
FAQ
Carlsbad Caverns pet questions
- Are dogs allowed in Carlsbad Caverns National Park?
- Pets are not allowed in the cavern, on unpaved surface trails, off road, at the Bat Flight Program or in the visitor center; a day-use concession kennel is available ($15/day). Leashes must be 6 feet or shorter. (From the park's nps.gov pets page, updated September 9, 2025.)
- Can dogs go on trails in Carlsbad Caverns?
- The park's pets page lists where pets may go (developed areas) but does not spell out a general trail rule — ask at the visitor center before hiking with a dog.
- Is there a kennel near Carlsbad Caverns?
- A concession-run kennel (Carlsbad Caverns Trading Company) is for day use only with no overnight stays, $15/day, 9:00 am-3:30 pm, first-come first-served; proof of vaccinations is required.
- Does Carlsbad Caverns have a B.A.R.K. Ranger program?
- The park's pets page repeats the B.A.R.K. principles but does not describe a tag program; ask at the visitor center.


