Dogs & pets
Dogs in Katmai: where they can go
Last verified Trails not stated
Allowed in some areas. Pets are allowed in the backcountry under physical control, but not in the Brooks Camp Developed Area (1.5-mile radius of the Brooks Falls Platform) from May 1 to October 31.

Where pets are allowed
Areas
- • The backcountry (pets must be under physical control at all times)
- • Anywhere not closed to pets: the 2026 compendium designates no closed areas other than the Brooks Camp Developed Area
Off-limits
- • Brooks Camp Developed Area (BCDA), a 1.5 mile radius from the Brooks Falls Platform, between May 1 and October 31 (pets and service animals)
Backcountry: pets allowed under leash rules
Rules & services
- Leash
- Length not stated on the page (6 ft is the NPS-wide rule)
- Kennels
- Not mentioned
- B.A.R.K. Ranger
- Principles listed; no program described
- Service animals
- Service animals are also not allowed within the Brooks Camp Developed Area between May 1 and October 31; the page does not otherwise address service animals.
In the park's own words
What Katmai says about pets
Sentences quoted from the park’s nps.gov pets page, last updated October 14, 2022, captured 2026-10-05.
“Pets and service animals are not allowed within the Brooks Camp Developed Area (BCDA), defined as a 1.5 mile radius from the Brooks Falls Platform, between May 1 and October 31.” nps.gov
“2.15(a)(1) Areas designated as closed to pets No designated closed areas under 2.15. Pets must be leashed or physically restrained at all times.” nps.gov
“The Brooks Camp Developed Area is closed to pets(including service animals) pursuant to 13.1234.” nps.gov
“Pets are allowed in the backcountry but must be under physical control at all times.” nps.gov
“Dogs are not allowed within the Brooks Camp developed area” nps.gov
Worth knowing
- No dedicated pets page exists on nps.gov for this park (planyourvisit/pets.htm returns 404). The source is the 'Pets' section of the Backcountry Regulations and Suggested Best Practices page, backed by the Katmai, Aniakchak, Alagnak Compendium (January 2026).
- The compendium says 'Pets must be leashed or physically restrained at all times' and gives no leash length; the backcountry page says 'under physical control'.
- The compendium states the Brooks Camp Developed Area is closed to pets (including service animals); a Katmai tips article on nps.gov says 'Dogs are not allowed within the Brooks Camp developed area'.
- Neither page names trails, kennels, or a B.A.R.K. Ranger program, so trails is unknown and kennel and barkRanger are null.
- pageUpdated is the backcountry page's 'Last updated' date.
How we read the rules
Every statement on this page was taken from the park’s own pets page on nps.gov and the quoted sentences are re-checked against our saved copy of that page each time the site is built. Parks change pet rules for wildlife, heat and trail conditions, and superintendents can close areas at short notice, so treat the park’s pets page and the ranger at the entrance as the final word. Service animals are covered by different rules. Compare all 63 parks.
Sources · 4
- 1.Katmai National Park & Preserve — Pets (nps.gov), last updated October 14, 2022 · National Park Service
- 2.Katmai — additional NPS page 1 · National Park Service
- 3.Katmai — additional NPS page 2 · National Park Service
- 4.Pets pages of each park on nps.gov (62 park units), read and quoted · National Park Service (U.S. Department of the Interior)
FAQ
Katmai pet questions
- Are dogs allowed in Katmai National Park & Preserve?
- Pets are allowed in the backcountry under physical control, but not in the Brooks Camp Developed Area (1.5-mile radius of the Brooks Falls Platform) from May 1 to October 31. (From the park's nps.gov pets page, updated October 14, 2022.)
- Can dogs go on trails in Katmai?
- The park's pets page lists where pets may go (the backcountry (pets must be under physical control at all times) and anywhere not closed to pets: the 2026 compendium designates no closed areas other than the brooks camp developed area) but does not spell out a general trail rule — ask at the visitor center before hiking with a dog.
- Can I take my dog backpacking in Katmai?
- Yes, the park allows pets in the backcountry under its leash rules — confirm with the wilderness office when you get your permit.
- Does Katmai have a B.A.R.K. Ranger program?
- The park's pets page repeats the B.A.R.K. principles but does not describe a tag program; ask at the visitor center.


