Dogs & pets
Dogs in Kobuk Valley: where they can go
Last verified Trails not stated
Allowed in some areas. The 2026 superintendent's compendium designates no areas closed to pets; pets must be leashed or physically restrained at all times. It does not address trails or the backcountry.

Where pets are allowed
Areas
- • Areas not closed to pets: the compendium designates no closed areas (pets leashed or physically restrained)
Off-limits
Not itemised on the park’s page beyond the summary above.
Backcountry: not stated
Rules & services
- Leash
- Length not stated on the page (6 ft is the NPS-wide rule)
- Kennels
- Not mentioned
- B.A.R.K. Ranger
- Principles listed; no program described
In the park's own words
What Kobuk Valley says about pets
Sentences quoted from the park’s nps.gov pets page, last updated January 30, 2026, captured 2026-10-05.
“2.15(a)(1) Areas designated as closed to pets No designated areas. Pets must be leashed or physically restrained at all times.” nps.gov
Worth knowing
- No dedicated pets page exists on nps.gov for this park (planyourvisit/pets.htm returns 404). The source is the Western Arctic National Parklands 2026 Superintendent's Compendium (covers Cape Krusenstern, Kobuk Valley and Noatak), 'Last Modified January 30, 2026'.
- nps.gov Kobuk Valley pages checked (basic information, safety, accessibility, things to do, permits, laws and policies, FAQ) contain no pet rules.
- Compendium: leaving pets unattended or tied to an object, or unattended inside a public use cabin for any length of time, is prohibited; sled dogs used as transportation may be left unattended for up to 24 hours when afforded adequate shelter, food and water.
- The compendium gives no leash length, does not name trails or backcountry, and says nothing about kennels, B.A.R.K. Ranger or service animals, so those fields are unknown or null.
- pageUpdated is the compendium's 'Last Modified' date.
How we read the rules
Every statement on this page was taken from the park’s own pets page on nps.gov and the quoted sentences are re-checked against our saved copy of that page each time the site is built. Parks change pet rules for wildlife, heat and trail conditions, and superintendents can close areas at short notice, so treat the park’s pets page and the ranger at the entrance as the final word. Service animals are covered by different rules. Compare all 63 parks.
Sources · 2
- 1.Kobuk Valley National Park — Pets (nps.gov), last updated January 30, 2026 · National Park Service
- 2.Pets pages of each park on nps.gov (62 park units), read and quoted · National Park Service (U.S. Department of the Interior)
FAQ
Kobuk Valley pet questions
- Are dogs allowed in Kobuk Valley National Park?
- The 2026 superintendent's compendium designates no areas closed to pets; pets must be leashed or physically restrained at all times. It does not address trails or the backcountry. (From the park's nps.gov pets page, updated January 30, 2026.)
- Can dogs go on trails in Kobuk Valley?
- The park's pets page lists where pets may go (areas not closed to pets: the compendium designates no closed areas (pets leashed or physically restrained)) but does not spell out a general trail rule — ask at the visitor center before hiking with a dog.
- Does Kobuk Valley have a B.A.R.K. Ranger program?
- The park's pets page repeats the B.A.R.K. principles but does not describe a tag program; ask at the visitor center.


