Dogs & pets
Dogs in Mammoth Cave: where they can go
Last verified Most trails6 ft leash maxB.A.R.K. Ranger park
Yes — on most trails. Leashed pets (6 feet or less) are allowed on all surface trails; pets are not permitted in caves or park buildings. Day-boarding kennel and pet-friendly cottages are available.

Where pets are allowed
Trails
- • All surface trails in the park
Areas
- • All surface trails in the park
- • Pet-friendly lodging in the Woodland Cottages
Off-limits
- • Caves
- • Park buildings
Backcountry: not stated
Rules & services
- Leash
- 6 ft or shorter, at all times
- Kennels
- Self-service outdoor day-boarding kennel operated by The Lodge at Mammoth Cave for dogs or cats during daylight hours; proof of vaccination required on entry; call (844) 760-2283.
- B.A.R.K. Ranger
- Yes
- Service animals
- Service animals are authorized entrance to all park caves and facilities open to the general public, per the ADA.
In the park's own words
What Mammoth Cave says about pets
Sentences quoted from the park’s nps.gov pets page, last updated May 26, 2026, captured 2026-10-05.
“The self-service outdoor kennel operated by The Lodge at Mammoth Cave can provide a safe place for your pet while you are on your cave tour.” nps.gov
“Use the B.A.R.K. principles to ensure a fun and safe park visit for both you and your B.A.R.K. Ranger.” nps.gov
“service animals are authorized entrance to all park caves and facilities open to the general public.” nps.gov
“B.A.R.K. Ranger Stella sends a friendly reminder that pets must be on a leash” nps.gov
“Call (844) 760-2283 for more information about kennel services.” nps.gov
“Leashed pets are allowed on all surface trails in the park.” nps.gov
Worth knowing
- barkRanger is true on the strength of the page's 'B.A.R.K. Ranger Principles' section, which calls visiting dogs 'B.A.R.K. Rangers', its 'B.A.R.K. Ranger Stella' reminder and a 'Learn about B.A.R.K. Rangers' link; the page does not use the word 'program'.
- Page mentions pets and owners may meet horse riders on park backcountry trails, but does not state a rule for overnight backcountry travel with pets, so backcountry is unknown.
- Page warns of ticks and biting insects.
How we read the rules
Every statement on this page was taken from the park’s own pets page on nps.gov and the quoted sentences are re-checked against our saved copy of that page each time the site is built. Parks change pet rules for wildlife, heat and trail conditions, and superintendents can close areas at short notice, so treat the park’s pets page and the ranger at the entrance as the final word. Service animals are covered by different rules. Compare all 63 parks.
Sources · 2
- 1.Mammoth Cave National Park — Pets (nps.gov), last updated May 26, 2026 · National Park Service
- 2.Pets pages of each park on nps.gov (62 park units), read and quoted · National Park Service (U.S. Department of the Interior)
FAQ
Mammoth Cave pet questions
- Are dogs allowed in Mammoth Cave National Park?
- Leashed pets (6 feet or less) are allowed on all surface trails; pets are not permitted in caves or park buildings. Day-boarding kennel and pet-friendly cottages are available. Leashes must be 6 feet or shorter. (From the park's nps.gov pets page, updated May 26, 2026.)
- Can dogs go on trails in Mammoth Cave?
- Yes — pets are allowed on All surface trails in the park, with exceptions such as Caves and Park buildings.
- Is there a kennel near Mammoth Cave?
- Self-service outdoor day-boarding kennel operated by The Lodge at Mammoth Cave for dogs or cats during daylight hours; proof of vaccination required on entry; call (844) 760-2283.
- Does Mammoth Cave have a B.A.R.K. Ranger program?
- Yes. Mammoth Cave takes part in the B.A.R.K. Ranger program (Bag your waste, Always leash, Respect wildlife, Know where you can go); ask at a visitor center about tags.


