Dogs & pets
Dogs in Pinnacles: where they can go
Last verified No trails6 ft leash max
Not on the trails. Leashed pets (6 ft) are allowed in picnic areas, the campground, parking lots and on paved roads; they are prohibited on all park trails, on shuttle buses and in park buildings.

Where pets are allowed
Areas
- • Picnic areas
- • Campground
- • Parking lots
- • Paved roads
Off-limits
- • All park trails
- • Shuttle buses
- • Park buildings, including visitor centers and the Bear Gulch Nature Center
Backcountry: not stated
Rules & services
- Leash
- 6 ft or shorter, at all times
- Kennels
- Not mentioned
- B.A.R.K. Ranger
- Principles listed; no program described
- Service animals
- Service animals are permitted in all areas open to the public, including visitor centers, campgrounds, trails and caves, and must stay on a leash or harness.
In the park's own words
What Pinnacles says about pets
Sentences quoted from the park’s nps.gov pets page, last updated November 23, 2024, captured 2026-10-05.
“pets are not allowed in the following areas: All park trails Shuttle buses Park buildings , including visitor centers and the Bear Gulch Nature Center” nps.gov
“Service animals are permitted in all areas of the park open to the public, including visitor centers, campgrounds, trails, and other outdoor spaces.” nps.gov
“Pets are allowed in specific areas of Pinnacles National Park, including: Picnic areas Campground Parking lots Paved roads” nps.gov
“Pets must be on a six-foot leash at all times and physically controlled.” nps.gov
“Service animals are permitted in the caves” nps.gov
Worth knowing
- The allowed list is introduced as 'specific areas ... including', so it is not stated to be exhaustive; backcountry is left unknown.
- Never leave pets unattended in a vehicle or tied to trees, picnic tables or other objects; the page says it is too hot for a pet in a vehicle above 70 F.
- The page does not mention a B.A.R.K. Ranger program.
How we read the rules
Every statement on this page was taken from the park’s own pets page on nps.gov and the quoted sentences are re-checked against our saved copy of that page each time the site is built. Parks change pet rules for wildlife, heat and trail conditions, and superintendents can close areas at short notice, so treat the park’s pets page and the ranger at the entrance as the final word. Service animals are covered by different rules. Compare all 63 parks.
Sources · 2
- 1.Pinnacles National Park — Pets (nps.gov), last updated November 23, 2024 · National Park Service
- 2.Pets pages of each park on nps.gov (62 park units), read and quoted · National Park Service (U.S. Department of the Interior)
FAQ
Pinnacles pet questions
- Are dogs allowed in Pinnacles National Park?
- Leashed pets (6 ft) are allowed in picnic areas, the campground, parking lots and on paved roads; they are prohibited on all park trails, on shuttle buses and in park buildings. Leashes must be 6 feet or shorter. (From the park's nps.gov pets page, updated November 23, 2024.)
- Can dogs go on trails in Pinnacles?
- No. Pinnacles does not allow pets on its hiking trails; they can go in picnic areas, campground, parking lots and paved roads.
- Does Pinnacles have a B.A.R.K. Ranger program?
- The park's pets page repeats the B.A.R.K. principles but does not describe a tag program; ask at the visitor center.


