Dogs & pets
Dogs in White Sands: where they can go
Last verified Trails not stated6 ft leash max
Allowed in some areas. Leashed pets (6 ft max) are welcome but not inside the visitor center or other federal buildings; the page does not say whether pets may use trails or backcountry.

Where pets are allowed
Areas
- • The park generally, on a leash no longer than six feet (the page names no specific areas apart from the pet walking stations)
- • Two designated pet walking stations outside the visitor center (one by the women's restroom, one behind the picnic tables)
Off-limits
- • Visitor center and other federal buildings
- • Visitor center and gift shop (per the park's Basic Information page)
Backcountry: not stated
Rules & services
- Leash
- 6 ft or shorter, at all times
- Kennels
- Not mentioned
- B.A.R.K. Ranger
- Principles listed; no program described
- Service animals
- Service animals are allowed in all facilities and on all trails unless the superintendent has closed an area to protect park resources.
In the park's own words
What White Sands says about pets
Sentences quoted from the park’s nps.gov pets page, last updated April 26, 2022, captured 2026-10-05.
“You'll love bringing your furry companions with you to the park, too.as long as they are non-disruptive, on a leash no longer than six feet, and are under physical control at all times.” nps.gov
“Service animals are allowed in all facilities and on all trails unless an area has been closed by the superintendent to protect park resources.” nps.gov
“Do not bring pets inside the visitor center. While we love seeing pets in the park, they are not allowed in federal buildings” nps.gov
“White Sands National Park has two designated pet walking stations complete with pet poop pick-up bags” nps.gov
“Visitors are welcome to bring their pets to the park as long as they are kept on a leash.” nps.gov
“pets are not permitted in the visitor center or gift shop; service animals are allowed.” nps.gov
Worth knowing
- trails is unknown: neither the pets page nor the Basic Information page (key whsa-pets-2, last updated June 23, 2026) says whether pets may use any trail. The trails evidence entry is the pets page's only trail sentence and it concerns service animals, not pets.
- The page says pets must not be left unattended, especially in vehicles, and must not be left tied to an object (36 CFR 2.15).
- The pets page 'Last updated' date is 2022.
How we read the rules
Every statement on this page was taken from the park’s own pets page on nps.gov and the quoted sentences are re-checked against our saved copy of that page each time the site is built. Parks change pet rules for wildlife, heat and trail conditions, and superintendents can close areas at short notice, so treat the park’s pets page and the ranger at the entrance as the final word. Service animals are covered by different rules. Compare all 63 parks.
Sources · 3
- 1.White Sands National Park — Pets (nps.gov), last updated April 26, 2022 · National Park Service
- 2.White Sands — additional NPS page 1 · National Park Service
- 3.Pets pages of each park on nps.gov (62 park units), read and quoted · National Park Service (U.S. Department of the Interior)
FAQ
White Sands pet questions
- Are dogs allowed in White Sands National Park?
- Leashed pets (6 ft max) are welcome but not inside the visitor center or other federal buildings; the page does not say whether pets may use trails or backcountry. Leashes must be 6 feet or shorter. (From the park's nps.gov pets page, updated April 26, 2022.)
- Can dogs go on trails in White Sands?
- The park's pets page lists where pets may go (the park generally, on a leash no longer than six feet (the page names no specific areas apart from the pet walking stations) and two designated pet walking stations outside the visitor center (one by the women's restroom, one behind the picnic tables)) but does not spell out a general trail rule — ask at the visitor center before hiking with a dog.
- Does White Sands have a B.A.R.K. Ranger program?
- The park's pets page repeats the B.A.R.K. principles but does not describe a tag program; ask at the visitor center.


