Dogs & pets
Dogs in Biscayne: where they can go
Last verified Trails not stated6 ft leash maxB.A.R.K. Ranger park
Allowed in some areas. Pets are allowed on the grounds at Convoy Point and on Elliott Key; not on Boca Chita Key (including boats docked in the harbor) or in the Dante Fascell Visitor Center. Leash 6 ft max.

Where pets are allowed
Areas
- • The grounds at Convoy Point
- • Elliott Key
Off-limits
- • Boca Chita Key, including on boats docked in the harbor
- • The Dante Fascell Visitor Center
Backcountry: not stated
Rules & services
- Leash
- 6 ft or shorter, at all times
- Kennels
- Not mentioned
- B.A.R.K. Ranger
- Yes
- Service animals
- The page quotes the ADA definition: a service animal is a dog individually trained to do work or perform tasks for a person with a disability; emotional support does not count.
In the park's own words
What Biscayne says about pets
Sentences quoted from the park’s nps.gov pets page, last updated May 14, 2021, captured 2026-10-05.
“Where Pets Are Allowed The grounds at Convoy Point Elliott Key Where Pets Are Not Allowed Boca Chita Key, including on boats docked in the harbor The Dante Fascell Visitor Center” nps.gov
“Service animal means any dog that is individually trained to do work or perform tasks for the benefit of an individual with a disability” nps.gov
“Where Pets Are Not Allowed Boca Chita Key, including on boats docked in the harbor The Dante Fascell Visitor Center” nps.gov
“Pets must be kept on a leash no longer than 6 feet and under your control at all times.” nps.gov
“Where Pets Are Allowed The grounds at Convoy Point Elliott Key” nps.gov
“Become a Biscayne B.A.R.K. Ranger” nps.gov
Worth knowing
- The page lists places pets are and are not allowed but never mentions trails, so trails is unknown.
- The page says not to leave pets inside your vehicle (leaving pets in a parked car is considered animal cruelty per Florida law) and not to leave them tied to picnic tables, trees or other stationary objects.
- The B.A.R.K. Ranger call to action is 'Become a Biscayne B.A.R.K. Ranger'; the page gives no sign-up details.
How we read the rules
Every statement on this page was taken from the park’s own pets page on nps.gov and the quoted sentences are re-checked against our saved copy of that page each time the site is built. Parks change pet rules for wildlife, heat and trail conditions, and superintendents can close areas at short notice, so treat the park’s pets page and the ranger at the entrance as the final word. Service animals are covered by different rules. Compare all 63 parks.
Sources · 2
- 1.Biscayne National Park — Pets (nps.gov), last updated May 14, 2021 · National Park Service
- 2.Pets pages of each park on nps.gov (62 park units), read and quoted · National Park Service (U.S. Department of the Interior)
FAQ
Biscayne pet questions
- Are dogs allowed in Biscayne National Park?
- Pets are allowed on the grounds at Convoy Point and on Elliott Key; not on Boca Chita Key (including boats docked in the harbor) or in the Dante Fascell Visitor Center. Leash 6 ft max. Leashes must be 6 feet or shorter. (From the park's nps.gov pets page, updated May 14, 2021.)
- Can dogs go on trails in Biscayne?
- The park's pets page lists where pets may go (the grounds at convoy point and elliott key) but does not spell out a general trail rule — ask at the visitor center before hiking with a dog.
- Does Biscayne have a B.A.R.K. Ranger program?
- Yes. Biscayne takes part in the B.A.R.K. Ranger program (Bag your waste, Always leash, Respect wildlife, Know where you can go); ask at a visitor center about tags.


