Skip to content
Park'd
Camping

Camping in Crater Lake

Last verified NPS campground data
2 campgrounds, 230 sites. 214 sites are reservable and 16 are first-come, first-served. Everything here is from the National Park Service’s own campground records, including what the NPS says about booking windows.
Campgrounds
2
Sites
230
Reservable
214
16 first-come
Longest RV
50 ft
1 dump station
Cell service
0/2
campgrounds
From
$5
per night

Every campground

Sites, rules and amenities

As the National Park Service lists them. Fees are the lowest nightly rate the NPS gives for the campground.
CampgroundSitesReservableFirst-comeRV maxCellShowersDumpFromBook
Mazama Campground214214050 ftNo—Yes$5Reserve
Lost Creek Campground16016No RVsNoNoNo$5—

When booking opens

Booking windows for campsites and lodges

How far ahead each campground and lodge takes reservations, checked against the park's or operator's own page. The quoted line is re-checked on every build.

Campground booking · Explor Crater Lake (concessioner), booked on Recreation.gov

Mazama Campground

Recreation.gov facility-rule value: 12 months (not stated in prose)

For 2026: late May through June 30 first-come, first-served (weather dependent, opens 3:00 pm); July 1 through October 1 open for reservations on Recreation.gov. The concessioner's FAQ says campsite reservations were available starting July 1, 2026. Recreation.gov's facility record carries a reservation window value of 12 Months.

“July 1st, 2026 – October 1st, 2026 – Open for reservations”
Book →Source pageUpdated — NPS eating & sleeping page: July 27, 2026 · Recreation.gov record updated 2026-06-15

Lodging booking · Explor Crater Lake (concessioner)

Crater Lake Lodge, Cabins at Mazama Village

“All 2026 Cabin and Lodge reservations are available.”
Book →Source pageUpdated — NPS eating & sleeping page: July 27, 2026

What the NPS says

Reservations, in the park's words

The reservation notes the National Park Service publishes for each campground.

Mazama Campground

From the opening date (dependent on snow removal), all accessible sites are first come first serve through June 30. From July through September, all sites are available by reservation only, online (reservation button below). If no tent sites are available, tent campers may reserve an RV site at the posted fee for that site. Parking areas at tent sites cannot accommodate RVs, so RV campers may not rent tent sites. For complete details use the reservation button to go rec.gov or go to the ExplorUS website at https://explorecraterlake.com/stay-at-crater-lake/mazama-campground/.

Recreation.gov →

Lost Creek Campground

Lost Creek Campground has 16 sites for tents only. Registration is self-serve on the day of arrival. No advance registration is available. Payment can be made by check or exact cash. Credit cards are not accepted. Senior and Access pass holders are eligible for a 50% discount. The only means of knowing site availability is upon arrival at the campground. The campground typically fills up, so arrive early to secure a site.

About this data

Site counts, reservation splits, RV limits and amenities are the National Park Service’s own records for each campground, retrieved from the NPS Data API and shown without edits (a dash means the park did not state it). Seasons, fees and availability change — the campground’s Recreation.gov page is the authority for what is open and bookable today.

Sources · 3

  1. 1.NPS Data API — /campgrounds · National Park Service (U.S. Department of the Interior)
  2. 2.Reservation, permit, lottery and camping pages of each park on nps.gov and Recreation.gov, read and quoted · National Park Service (U.S. Department of the Interior)
  3. 3.Crater Lake National Park — Camping (nps.gov) · National Park Service

FAQ

Crater Lake camping questions

How many campgrounds does Crater Lake have?
The National Park Service lists 2 campgrounds in Crater Lake National Park with 230 sites in total: 214 reservable and 16 first-come, first-served.
Do I need a reservation to camp in Crater Lake?
Mazama Campground takes reservations, while Lost Creek Campground is first-come, first-served. For Mazama Campground: Recreation.gov facility-rule value: 12 months (not stated in prose).
Can I bring an RV to Crater Lake?
Yes. 1 campground allows RVs; the longest stated limit is 50 feet (Mazama Campground). 1 campground has a dump station. Hookups are rare in national parks — check each campground's details.
Is there cell service at Crater Lake campgrounds?
The NPS reports no cell reception at any of the park's campgrounds. Download maps before you arrive.

Park'd · free on iPhone & Android

Save the campsite, the sunset and the trip.

Park'd keeps trip dates, photos and the places you want to come back to, park by park.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play