Dogs & pets
Dogs in American Samoa: where they can go
Last verified No trails
Not on the trails. Pets (cats, dogs, other domesticated animals) are not allowed on hiking trails, in park buildings, in public transportation vehicles or on swimming beaches; the page names no allowed areas.

Where pets are allowed
The park’s page names no areas where pets may go.
Off-limits
- • Hiking trails
- • Park buildings
- • Public buildings
- • Public transportation vehicles
- • Swimming beaches
- • Structures
Backcountry: not stated
Rules & services
- Leash
- Length not stated on the page (6 ft is the NPS-wide rule)
- Kennels
- Not mentioned
- B.A.R.K. Ranger
- Principles listed; no program described
In the park's own words
What American Samoa says about pets
Sentences quoted from the park’s nps.gov pets page, last updated July 9, 2017, captured 2026-10-05.
“Check with park authorities regarding pets. While some trails may allow dogs on leashes, it's important to follow regulations” nps.gov
“Pets, including cats, dogs or other domesticated animals are not allowed on hiking trails or within park buildings.” nps.gov
“Pets are not allowed in public buildings, public transportation vehicles, swimming beaches, and structures.” nps.gov
Worth knowing
- The pets page is very short (2017 date) and names no area where pets ARE allowed and no leash length; allowedAreas is empty and leashMaxFeet is null because the page says nothing. The allowedAreas evidence entry is the page's only place-rule sentence, not a statement that any area is allowed.
- The park's Laws & Policies page (nps.gov, last updated July 9, 2026, key npsa-pets-4) repeats the same 36 CFR 2.15 pet rule, including 'not allowed on hiking trails or within park buildings'.
- CONFLICT / hedge: the park's Hiking page (key npsa-pets-2, last updated May 29, 2026) says only 'Check with park authorities regarding pets. While some trails may allow dogs on leashes...'. This is vaguer than, and does not name any exception to, the explicit trail ban on the pets and Laws & Policies pages, so trails is recorded as none; a visitor should confirm with the park.
- Capture npsa-pets-3 (Alerts & Conditions page) had no pet content and is not used.
How we read the rules
Every statement on this page was taken from the park’s own pets page on nps.gov and the quoted sentences are re-checked against our saved copy of that page each time the site is built. Parks change pet rules for wildlife, heat and trail conditions, and superintendents can close areas at short notice, so treat the park’s pets page and the ranger at the entrance as the final word. Service animals are covered by different rules. Compare all 63 parks.
Sources · 4
- 1.National Park of American Samoa — Pets (nps.gov), last updated July 9, 2017 · National Park Service
- 2.American Samoa — additional NPS page 1 · National Park Service
- 3.American Samoa — additional NPS page 2 · National Park Service
- 4.Pets pages of each park on nps.gov (62 park units), read and quoted · National Park Service (U.S. Department of the Interior)
FAQ
American Samoa pet questions
- Are dogs allowed in National Park of American Samoa?
- Pets (cats, dogs, other domesticated animals) are not allowed on hiking trails, in park buildings, in public transportation vehicles or on swimming beaches; the page names no allowed areas. (From the park's nps.gov pets page, updated July 9, 2017.)
- Can dogs go on trails in American Samoa?
- No. American Samoa does not allow pets on its hiking trails.
- Does American Samoa have a B.A.R.K. Ranger program?
- The park's pets page repeats the B.A.R.K. principles but does not describe a tag program; ask at the visitor center.


