Skip to content
Park'd
Camping

Camping in Sequoia & Kings Canyon

Last verified NPS campground data
15 campgrounds, 1,213 sites. 1,191 sites are reservable. Everything here is from the National Park Service’s own campground records, including what the NPS says about booking windows.
Campgrounds
15
Sites
1,213
Reservable
1,191
Longest RV
82 ft
2 dump stations
Cell service
4/15
campgrounds
From
$3
per night

Every campground

Sites, rules and amenities

As the National Park Service lists them. Fees are the lowest nightly rate the NPS gives for the campground.
CampgroundSitesReservableFirst-comeRV maxCellShowersDumpFromBook
Dorst Creek Campground2222020YesNoNoNo$16Reserve
Lodgepole Campground214214040 ftNoNoYes$16Reserve
Sunset Campground158158030 ftYesNoNo$16Reserve
Moraine Campground1211210YesNoNoNo$16Reserve
Sheep Creek Campground111111030 ftNoNoNo$16Reserve
Azalea Campground110110047 ftYesNoNo$16Reserve
Sentinel Campground8282082 ftNoNoNo$16Reserve
Potwisha Campground4240024 ftNoNoYes$16Reserve
Cold Springs Campground40400No RVsNoNoNo$16Reserve
Crystal Springs Campground3535025 ftYesNoNo$16Reserve
Buckeye Flat Campground27270No RVsNoNoNo$16Reserve
Atwell Mill Campground21210No RVsNoNoNo$16Reserve
Canyon View Group Campground16160No RVsNoNoNo$50Reserve
Crystal Springs Campground Group Sites14140No RVsYesNoNo$50Reserve
South Fork Campground000No RVsNoNoNo$3—

When booking opens

Booking windows for campsites and lodges

How far ahead each campground and lodge takes reservations, checked against the park's or operator's own page. The quoted line is re-checked on every build.

Campground booking · Recreation.gov (National Park Service)

Lodgepole Campground, Potwisha Campground, Sentinel Campground, Azalea Campground, Canyon View Group Sites

4 months (Recreation.gov facility-rule value)

Recreation.gov's facility rules for these campgrounds list a reservation window of 4 months. The window is not stated in prose on the NPS campgrounds page or in the campground descriptions. NPS: nearly all campgrounds require advance reservations and sites fill quickly.

“"reservationWindow":{"value":4,"units":"Months"”
Book →Source pageUpdated — NPS campgrounds page: March 21, 2026 · Recreation.gov records updated 2026-07-17

Campground booking · Recreation.gov (National Park Service)

Dorst Creek Campground, Buckeye Flat Campground, Atwell Mill Campground, Cold Springs Campground, Moraine Campground, Sheep Creek Campground, Sunset Campground

1 month (Recreation.gov facility-rule value)

Recreation.gov's facility rules for these campgrounds list a reservation window of 1 month. The window is not stated in prose on the NPS or Recreation.gov pages.

“"reservationWindow":{"value":1,"units":"Months"”
Book →Source pageUpdated — NPS campgrounds page: March 21, 2026 · Recreation.gov records updated 2026-03-10 to 2026-07-17

Campground booking · Recreation.gov (National Park Service)

Crystal Springs Campground

2 days (Recreation.gov facility-rule value)

Recreation.gov's facility rules list a reservation window of 2 days. This is not stated in prose.

“"reservationWindow":{"value":2,"units":"Days"”
Book →Source pageUpdated — Recreation.gov record updated 2026-07-17

Lodging booking · Delaware North (DNC Parks & Resorts), via visitsequoia.com

Wuksachi Lodge, John Muir Lodge, Grant Grove Cabins, Cedar Grove Lodge

366 days (rolling)

Reservations may be booked up to 366 days (one year and one day) in advance (stated for Wuksachi Lodge and, separately, for John Muir Lodge, Cedar Grove Lodge and Grant Grove Cabins).

“Reservations may be booked up to 366 days (one year and one day) in advance.”
Book →Source pageUpdated — NPS lodging page: September 17, 2025

What the NPS says

Reservations, in the park's words

The reservation notes the National Park Service publishes for each campground.

Dorst Creek Campground

Dorst Creek Campground does not have a determined reopening date due to ongoing storm damage repair. Reservations for individual campsites at Dorst Creek Campground can be made up to one month in advance of your stay. Group site reservations can be made up to four months in advance. All sites are reservation only.

Recreation.gov →

Lodgepole Campground

Lodgepole Campground reservations typically open in January and are available up to four months in advance of your stay. All sites are reservation only.

Recreation.gov →

Sunset Campground

Reservations for individual sites at Sunset Campground typically open in April and can be made up to one month in advance of your stay. Reservations for group campsites typically open in January and can be made up to four months in advance. All sites are reservation only.

Recreation.gov →

Moraine Campground

Reservations for Moraine Campground typically open in April and can be made up to one month in advance of your stay. All sites are reservation only.

Recreation.gov →

Sheep Creek Campground

Reservations for Sheep Creek Campground typically open in April and can be made up to one month in advance of your stay. All sites are reservation only.

Recreation.gov →

Azalea Campground

From November until May, Azaela Campground has 20 sites open on a first-come, first-served basis. When sites are first-come, first-served, payment is done through the Recreation.gov mobile app. Please download the app before coming to the park (www.recreation.gov/mobile-app). Cellular service is very limited. As long as the app is installed prior to arrival, payment will work even when a device does not have internet connection. For those same 20 sites, reservations for the summer begin in early January and can be made up to four months in advance of your stay. 90 additional sites open about t…

Recreation.gov →

Sentinel Campground

Reservations for Sentinel Campground typically open in January and can be made up to four months in advance of your stay. All sites are reservation only.

Recreation.gov →

Potwisha Campground

Reservations for Potwisha Campground are available up to four months in advance of your stay. All sites are reservation only.

Recreation.gov →

Cold Springs Campground

Reservations for Cold Springs Campground typically open in April and can be made up to one month in advance of your stay. All sites are reservation only.

Recreation.gov →

Crystal Springs Campground

Reservations for Crystal Springs Campground typically open in May and can be made up to two days in advance of your stay. All sites are reservation only.

Recreation.gov →

Buckeye Flat Campground

Buckeye Flat Campground does not have a determined reopening date due to ongoing storm damage repair. Reservations for Buckeye Flat Campground are available up to one month in advance of your stay. All sites are reservation only.

Recreation.gov →

Atwell Mill Campground

Reservations for Atwell Mill Campground typically open in April and can be made up to one month in advance of your stay. All sites are reservation only.

Recreation.gov →

Canyon View Group Campground

Reservations for Canyon View Group Campground typically open in January and can be made up to four months in advance of your stay. All sites are reservation only.

Recreation.gov →

Crystal Springs Campground Group Sites

Reservations for the Crystal Springs Group Campground typically open in January and can be made up to four months in advance of your stay. All sites are reservation only.

Recreation.gov →

South Fork Campground

No reservations are available for this campground.

About this data

Site counts, reservation splits, RV limits and amenities are the National Park Service’s own records for each campground, retrieved from the NPS Data API and shown without edits (a dash means the park did not state it). Seasons, fees and availability change — the campground’s Recreation.gov page is the authority for what is open and bookable today.

Sources · 3

  1. 1.NPS Data API — /campgrounds · National Park Service (U.S. Department of the Interior)
  2. 2.Reservation, permit, lottery and camping pages of each park on nps.gov and Recreation.gov, read and quoted · National Park Service (U.S. Department of the Interior)
  3. 3.Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks — Camping (nps.gov) · National Park Service

FAQ

Sequoia & Kings Canyon camping questions

How many campgrounds does Sequoia & Kings Canyon have?
The National Park Service lists 15 campgrounds in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks with 1,213 sites in total: 1,191 reservable.
Do I need a reservation to camp in Sequoia & Kings Canyon?
Dorst Creek Campground, Lodgepole Campground, Sunset Campground, Moraine Campground, Sheep Creek Campground, Azalea Campground, Sentinel Campground, Potwisha Campground, Cold Springs Campground, Crystal Springs Campground, Buckeye Flat Campground, Atwell Mill Campground, Canyon View Group Campground and Crystal Springs Campground Group Sites take reservations. For Lodgepole Campground, Potwisha Campground, Sentinel Campground, Azalea Campground, Canyon View Group Sites: 4 months (Recreation.gov facility-rule value).
Can I bring an RV to Sequoia & Kings Canyon?
Yes. 7 campgrounds allow RVs; the longest stated limit is 82 feet (Sentinel Campground). 2 campgrounds have a dump station. Hookups are rare in national parks — check each campground's details.
Is there cell service at Sequoia & Kings Canyon campgrounds?
The NPS reports cell reception at 4 of 15 campgrounds (Sunset Campground, Azalea Campground, Crystal Springs Campground and Crystal Springs Campground Group Sites). Coverage depends on your carrier.

Park'd · free on iPhone & Android

Save the campsite, the sunset and the trip.

Park'd keeps trip dates, photos and the places you want to come back to, park by park.

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play